My First Blog Entry! -(originally posted 9/14/08)

My First Blog Entry!

I know some of you have been waiting for my Blog button to start working. It is up now – so here we go …

My intention with my blog is to give you a peek at what I am doing in the way of quilting and pattern making. I hope to share tips and tricks and keep you up to date on my pattern line and National Quilt show submissions.

I have set a plan for myself in the way of professional and artistic goals. In 2003 I was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma which resulted in almost a full year of bed rest, chemo, radiation, and finally a stem cell transplant.  I told myself when and if I get better I am going to pursue my passion with fervor.

What is my passion? My passion is art – especially art with fiber and fabric.  I also love business and marketing.  In late 2004 I set a goal of really making a huge effort to create a line of patterns that would appeal to most quilters.  I hoped to sell the patterns under my company name “Zebra Patterns” locally and as my children grew up – expand my horizons to a national format.  I also wanted to compete nationally in the mixed media art categories at all the top shows in the US.  My ultimate goal is to continue growing Zebra Patterns to a nice sized small business realizing a nice profit through sales, lectures, workshops, and someday books all over the world.

As you continue to read my blog – you will get to know more about me and my art. This first blog is a bit bewildering. I could write for three days! But I will spare you! Let’s just jump right in!

What’s new?
For those of you who know my line of patterns – that answer would be “New York Citystamp” at left.  It is a really fun cityscape of NYC with “the big apple” floating in the Hudson!  I created the design to be the third stamp in the series.  I was at one of my DC customer’s quilt shops and I showed her a picture of the stamp. She really loved it, but commented that the Statue of Liberty was a bit “wee”. She was right!  I redesigned the stamp to make the statue larger. Unfortunately,  I have already made  four samples made with the wee statue.  The pattern will have the bigger statue.  This sparked a thought – I think I will start an online gallery shop of quilts for sale that may have been first editions. I will eventually remake the samples – but not anytime too soon! Keep an eye out for the gallery items for sale. The next stamp will be Philly! All you Philadelphia fans – please send me emails about what should be in a Philly Citystamp. I know DC, Baltimore and NY as I have lived in all of those locations, however – Philly – nope – need help with landmarks there!

Where have I been?
Yesterday I was in Aberdeen MD at Sew and Save owned by Peggy Isaac. If you have not been there – “time for a road trip”!  She has a huge shop with a full room of patterns, another room of just machines, another huge classroom, another room for longarms – and it goes on and on! There is a link to Sew and Save on my site under “shops to get zebra patterns”.  I was at Peggy’s shop to kick off my new line of bird patterns that I designed in spring of 08. Peggy is running a Block of the Month Program. The finished quilt with all 12 monthly birds is pictured at left.  She had a great group of quilters that I presented and did a full demonstration to. The BOM program of Birds is also running at Main Street Quilts in Elkridge and Patches in Mt. Airy.

Where am I going?
Tomorrow I am going back up toward Aberdeen to lecture and give a workshop at the Flying Geese Quilt Guild.  I will blog again to let you know how it went. I will be using my website as visuals through a computer projector.

Through for today: Man have I got a ton of stuff to do! I am happy that I have been able to check off another component of my marketing plan which was “get my blog running”.  Check! More to come…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 17:59:40

    Loved your photo. I am delighted that we all will be able to see your work, and we will be able share it with others,

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 21:29:18

    Your website is truly amazing, as is your work. Congratulations on all your successes!

    Reply

  3. david6677ll
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 04:22:30

    wowzers,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

