New work 10-20-08

"Rooster" 12" x 18"

For the past 3 weeks I have been giving an abbreviated lecture to my Miltown guild members. I really love teaching this class. It is an outline of my “Art Creations” class. It is so rewarding to see highly skilled quilters take their first steps toward creating their own original art. The ladies are really doing an AMAZING job! Last week I showed the group how to trace objects and make them their own. After that I showed how to make patterns and use steam a seam lite. As an example i chose a picture of this rooster. I told the ladies I would finish up a simple rooster wall quilt to show them how it all came together. That is the result pictured above.

I also finished the a piece called “evolve alone”. The name is a spin off of my “e series”. One of the “e series” hangings is named “evolve”. This last hanging of that series was done alone – hence the name with no type on this one.  I had started this series a few years back. I had made a large quilt top and decided to cut it up and make a series of 6 hangings. This was one of my favorite cropped pieces that sat on my studio wall for years. I brought that to the class on the second day to finish up. The finished product is below.

Emerge Alone 15" x 21"

This weekend I took my boys (Austin and Brooks) to Georgetown. We had a blast! We left at 12:30 and did not get home until after 8pm! Who needs girls? Brooks is a real clothes horse. Austin is taking close notes from his brother! We went in to numerous boutiques but really hit the mother-load at Urban Outfitters. What a cool store! Great clothes and lots of books and cool things! The boys got several things. I got a great Obama tee shirt.  It was so much fun. We decided that we are really an “Urban Wannabe Family”. We “think” we would love city life – however the education in DC schools is poor at best! We ate at an English pub. The food was great but the service was tooo slow. Now – the best was yet to come. We went into a store called “The Paper Source” – OMG! I was in heaven! It was every color of stationery in every size in every shape – it was awesome! They had walls of gorgeous sheets of wrapping paper! Upstairs was a full create center with stamps, cool findings, art books…. I almost had a heart attack! I found some new magazines called “art life” which are about journaling – that is the direction I want to take my quilts in – art journaling/painting.  I am now absorbing all the visual candy i collected and hope to process it into my next big quilt.  I did some sketching last night – I may post that tomorrow. I am off to my Fiberlectic Art group. 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kayla
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 02:41:12

    WOW!!! sounds like a blast! urban outfitters is sooooo cooool! and i have been dying to go to a paper source. I get thier catalogs and then drool over all the pretty goodness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

