Obama Quilt

I am creating a new Obama Quilt for a show in Montgomery Md. for the Ignaguration. I have actually had concepts of this quilt brewing for over 18 months. When Obama actually got elected I started it more seriously. A friend of mine and fellow fiber artist Sue Walen has put together a show and a venue at Montgomery College. The due date is 1-20-09. I have the top almost completed.

I focused on had turning all the edges rather than raw edge applique in response to my last two quilts that made it into Houston Quilt International – but came back with judges comments about the lack of consistancy in the raw edge sewing. I turned all the edges – therefore illiminating the possibility for that comment. I will say it was a royal pain in the neck! But – It is done. I am struggling a bit now on typography. I am not sure what type I want to add…”Progress”, or “Change”, or “Yes we can” – This weekend “It is a New Day” has been on the top of my hit parade.

I have two art critque meetings this week I will roll the ideas by my fellow fiber artists and see if they see something that is calling out to them as far as verbage. I like to have some type on all my quilts. Check out the image below for a sneak peek.

Oh he is missing his left ear – but I did get that on this afternoon after this pix was taken. I will post a final when it is done.  I have to finish the peace dove and his shirt/tie.  I actually was very frustrated mid stream thinking it looked awful. I took out some fabric paint to make corrections and threw the brush at his face midway through. After 3-5 days I came back and saw it was okay – so we shall see how it all finishes up. I am planning irregular edges.

Oh yes – that sneaker in the lower left is my foot! lol!

I actually have a friend who would like to purchase this when it is done. That is pretty cool. I hope I will want to part with it.

obama-in-progress-web

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Freddie
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 04:41:13

    Remarkable and beautifuil.

    Reply

  2. Joan Sheridan
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 15:36:29

    Incredible quilt and great concept.

    I would like to know the hours of the show and if there is a fee for the opening or show. I will be traveling some distance and need to plan.

    Thank You,

    Joanie

    Reply

  3. Diana Bracy
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 03:48:51

    Hi Debra, you quilt is so beautiful. I am anxiously waiting to see it finished. Your quilt gives me chills. I am proud to say that my Obama Fabric Mosaic will have the honor of being displayed with your wonderfully artistic art quilt. I hope to see you there. Diana Bracy

    Reply

  4. Diana Bracy
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 20:54:29

    I just love the rich colors that you have used. What a work of Art!

    Reply

  5. kyra
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 21:00:04

    I can’t wait to see the actual quilt!!

    Reply

  6. Renee Valdes
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 15:36:31

    Absolutely wonderful! I am inspired by the piece. I have been toying with the idea of making one for a while… not for the show, but for myself. Can’t wait until it is finished to get a peak!

    Renee

    Reply

  7. Carrie Garza
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 21:50:16

    What a gorgeous quilt! I’m a quilter too. Let me know if your friend doesn’t buy this, I’d like to buy it too! Best wishes for a wonderful time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

