Philadelphia City Stamp Sketched!

phillie-web-sketch1Today was a busy day! My biggest accomplishment was that I completed the sketch for the Philadelphia City Stamp! YEA! It is posted above. The stamp includes the most famous buildings in the Phillie Skyline:  the US Customs House, Liberty 1 and 2, Melon Building, City Hall and the Bell Atlantic Tower along with the liberty bell on top and scullers on the Schuylkill  River. I also made two different sketch colorations – do you have a preference? See below.

phillie-color-sketch-21

My goal is to get Phillie, Chicago and maybe one other city done for the Pittsburgh Market. Yep! I am finally going to market for the first time. I almost backed out – nervous about the idea.  Gary said Let’s Go for It! So we are! Gary and possibly another helper (hopefully my sister) will come along.  Gary has a ton of experience in trade shows and he is really brilliant with marketing.  I almost backed out because of the economy and everyone is saving on travel – but it is hard to pass up since it will be so close to MD. I will use this to judge whether or not Houston makes sense in the Fall. (…or some fall to come)

Today I also went to my Bethesda guild and listened to the guest speaker and showed my Obama quilt. I was very happy that is was well received.  I think tonight I will call up the person who commissioned the quilt and show her. I am nervous about that as well! It can be nerve racking to have to present your work to someone who has commissioned it. What if she hates it?

I think I have a few more Obama quilts in me. I want to try a whole cloth painted quilt with the Obama them.

Okay – enough for today – I will keep you posted on what is happening next in the Zebra Studio.  I have to go back and continue to take down Xmas stuff! YUCK! I usually have it all down and put away by New Years – but it got up late this year and it will go away late too!

Have a great week!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda S
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 19:12:09

    For what every it’s worth, I like the blue sky better. 🙂

    See ya soon!

    🙂 Linda

    Reply

  2. Debra A Gabel
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 20:18:51

    Thanks! I agree! And your comment is worth a lot! 🙂

    Reply

  3. zebrapatterns
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 01:48:40

    I agree!

    Reply

  4. alethia
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 12:58:55

    I was introduce to your blog via black threads’ blog. I absolutely love your work. I am a quilter, I love to make scraps and crazy quilts. I have collected several image of President Obama and after seeing your beautiful quilt and might try to do my own version.

    Reply

    • zebrapatterns
      Jan 23, 2009 @ 13:23:00

      Thanks for your kind words. I 100% encourage you to make your own Obama quilt. This is such a wonderful time in our history – you don’t want to miss the indescribable energy that is in the air that will make your quilt come alivw!!! Send me piz when you are done and I will post them on my blog! -Debra

      Reply

  5. Sharon
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 18:28:22

    Just found your first city stamp pattern and purchased the stamp for Washington, D.C. Am interested in whether or not you may have other patterns for: St. Louis, Phoenix, L.A., Denver, or Cincinnati,?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

