1st Place in Beverage Challenge and my Quilting Arts 2010 Calendar entries.

I Love Pina Coladas and Getting Caught in the rain

I Love Pina Coladas and Getting Caught in the rain

Today I went to my quilt guild in Bethesda – Nimble Fingers Quilters. This is the group that created the “Beverage” Challenge. Guess what? I won! I won a free pass to any upcoming class. My Pina Colada quilt was a hit. I have included a small pix of the quilt.

Then I frantically drove home to try to get the 2010 Quilting Arts Calendar Challenge finished. The theme is “Fresh Picked”. I chose to do strawberries and kiwis. I went out last week and bought the fruit and took several pix. After that I made some sketches in my sketch book. Finally I got a sketch composed the way I liked and then I made a vector drawing in Adobe Illustrator and out put the AI drawing on a 13 x 19″ piece of EQ Printable cotton fabric. I saturated the colors. I out put three different color combos. Then I took Portfolio Oil pastels and I over sketched the output. Once I got the image output and over sketched I sandwiched it it quilted them I made one with hard edges on the fruit and left one with yellow lines on the edges. I took some pix of the final two pieces and the pix were pretty good – but I had terrible paper for out put. There was no time to go get more – so I did the best I could and sent a CD in case they liked the concept and wanted to see better pix. Who knows what will happen! I gave it a shot! So below are two pix of the entries. You were allowed two entries.  I am liking this sketchy style.

At the meeting we heard Art Quilter/Mixed Media artist Lesley Reilly speak about transfering images to fabric. Tomorrow I have a workshop with her in Bethesda. I will let you know how that goes tomorrow. Lesley has written 3 books and is a regular writer for Cloth Paper Scissors.

This weekend I am lecturing at the MD Woman’s Art League. I am also teaching my last class of Art Creations at Patches. That is such a GREAT class. This group of students are VERY talented. I hope to post their projects so you can see what they have done. BUSY! BUSY!

In the meantime I am making 12 butterfly patterns for the next Block of the month pattern I am working on. Crazy! Better busy than being bored! More to come….

Strawberries and Kiwis #1

Strawberries and Kiwis #1

Strawberries and Kiwis #1 Detail

Strawberries and Kiwis #1 Detail

Strawberries and Kiwis #2

Strawberries and Kiwis #2

My entry form - shows my photos and sketches before I used oil pastels

My entry form - shows my photos and sketches before I used oil pastels

Leave a Reply

