Shoot for the Moon #13

In order to get the Zebra name out in the National Market it is necessary to get your work displayed in all different ways. Shooting for the moon often involves buck shot – –  in which you have to shoot and the bullet needs to scatter in many different places! Going to market and entering National Competitions are a few ways – but writing articles for magazines is yet another. Last Fall I made some art for the Quilting Arts 2010 Calendar contest. The theme was “Fresh picked”. I decided to do Strawberries and kiwis – two of my favorite fresh picked fruits. I posted about this competition several months back.Check them out(post on March 5, 2009 and Feb 28 involve the new technique I invented) . My Feb 28 posting describes the Digital underpainting and oversketching process.  My strawberries and kiwis did not make it into the calendar however Pokey Bolton and her staff were interested in getting me to write a magazine article about the technique.

I have been working feverishly on the article for the past week. I made four new art quilts measuring approximately 16″ x 21″. They are all sketches I played with in my art journal and then turned them into quilts. See the four new quilts below.  I have also included a snapshot of my art journal that I scanned into the computer. It is an interesting process and is exactly the desire effect I was after. I am starting to work on some larger sketches now to make two or three large quilts in this style.  I will mail all my work to quilting arts magazine tomorrow. Hopefully it will be published in the next issue as they stated. We will see!

Oversketch Girl #1 Rebecca
Sketched image of Rebecca scanned into my computer
Rebecca

Rebecca

Annie

Annie

Debra

Debra

Liz

Liz

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Diane D.
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 18:40:54

    Good on you – I knew Quilting Arts would be interested! Can’t wait to see the article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

