HOUSTON – Last Day

New Friends

The pix below is of Cheryl and Robin Lune from New Zealand. We stayed in the same hotel and visited many times at breakfast. They have a shop in their home country.

Robin and Cheryl Lune from New Zealand

New Friends . . . Robin and Cheryl Lune from New Zealand

Guildmate Sheila Reiss won the 2009 Hoffman Challenge

Guildmate Sheila Reiss won the 2009 Hoffman Challenge

Yesterday, Saturday was supposed to be the “big surge”. While overall the day was good it was not a blockbuster or major rush. Vendors speculated that the economy and the football game kept quilters away. Apparently there was a big TX vs OK college game on. Another reason for diminished traffic might have been the date of the show. I have been told Festival is always the last week of October and the first week of November. This year it was mid October – two weeks earlier. We shall see what today brings in the way of sales.

Last night as I was leaving the convention center I was slowed by a group of people and police at the end of our aisle. A man has gone up to a booth and went behind the counter and stole over 5,000.00 in cash. There were witnesses. I also heard another vendor had her purse stolen from under her table and they later found it stripped in a nearby garbage can. I really am thinking my phone was stolen the second day of market. I heard of two other vendors with missing phones. It is depressing knowing that such a wonderful event is the target for crime.

AS promised I snapped a bunch of photos. I snapped pix of all the quilts that made me stop. Below you will find pix with captions. The man and woman pictured is my new friends from New Zealand – Robin and Cheryl Lune. I have a place to stay if I ever make it out that way!

The most exciting thing that happened last night is that my first book idea come to mind! I have the whole thing thought out! It is going to be awesome! I cannot wait to start working on it! I think I will self publish. I think this book might be around for awhile – at least that is the plan.

Speaking of books – I went to the SAQA booth (Studio Arts Quilt Assoc) and they have their 17th annual book out. I have a page with my Aqua Aurora pictured. My friends Ellen Linder, Karen Shultz and Cathy Kleeman are also in the book.

Enjoy the pix below! A final wrap up blog will be written after we get home. Tomorrow it will be 11 days I have been away! That is  a long time. I really miss the boys and the dog. The show runs from 11-5 today and we pack up. Gary is here with a van. He will drop all our stuff at his friend’s warehouse on Monday for shipping.

I will update names of quilts and artists when I find my little notebook. With all the stuff we lugged down here it is hard to keep track of stuff!

Houston 10-18-09 014

Cynthia England and I have become friends

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

"Once Upon a Christmas Night" by Sieglinde Schoen Smith.

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Name and Artist coming when I find my notes

Forth and Sixth Designs - Barbara and Mary

Forth and Sixth Designs - Barbara and Mary

Houston 10-18-09 029

Winning Quilt - name and artist to come

Denise Havlan's "Shannon's Bantam" won the 5K Fairfield Master Award for Contemporary Artistry.

Artist and Quilt name to come.

Artist and Quilt name to come.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 02:29:47

    Hey Debra – Been thinking about you a lot and wishing you the best in Houston. I look forward to hearing about it upon your return, not to mention the book…

    In the meantime I’ll be running out to get a copy of the Oct-Nov issue of Quilting Arts. Congrats and a safe journey home – love annie

    Reply

    • zebrapatterns
      Oct 19, 2009 @ 14:55:19

      Annie –
      I am so happy to hear from you! I have been calling and emailing for months! I was getting worried. It has been a great show and I a very tired. When I get back you need to come over for a playdate in my new studio.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

