Good Bye Houston!

This will be my last posting from Houston. We are all packed and Gary is bringing the booth and extra patterns to our friends’ warehouse. Dee just went for breakfast and I have a few minutes to myself. I think I will write a list of spontaneous comments that I am thinking after this whole adventure. Here we go.

– This was a TON of work.

– I would stay at the Residence Inn again – nice hotel.

– I would NOT bring as many patterns.

– I would set up the booth differently.

– I would buy an endcap booth and possibly spread out to two booths for festival.

– This was a TON of work.

– I would get a table and position it in the back of the booth with patterns underneath.

– I would pick a few top sellers and sell them in kits as well as in pattern form.

– I will look into a different grid display system.

– This was a TON of work.

– I would print up special calling cards with my booth number for the show.

– I would bring a cash register for the festival part.

– I would like to get a booth near the fabric companies I will be working with.

– I would take less clothes! I packed too much stuff.

– I would not display all my quilts. There was too much to look at.

– This was a TON of work.

– I would get track lighting for the booth.

– I will do a demo and I will sell pressing sheets and fusible webbing.

– We would do a better job of bringing lunch each day rather than eating from concessions which was a rip off! 3.00 for a bottle of water.

– This was a TON of work.

– There is so much work ahead of me! YIKES! but very cool!

That is just a few stream of consciousness thoughts. Overall it was a god experience. I think we may have broken even as far as costs/profits. What I gained is many new shops in the US carrying zebra patterns. I have wheels in motion to start working with a thread company and a fabric company.

I am ready to go home to my three boys, my sweet doggie and my new studio. Thanks for taking a ride to Houston with me!

My next blog will be about how much work is involved once I get home. I think it might be the right time to start printing huge lots of patterns. Stay tuned…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patti
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 02:26:58

    I guess it was a TON of work! Glad to hear it was a success…..looking forward to seeing pictues of the finished studio.! Give everyone a kiss from me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

