Shoot for the Moon #36 – Disappointment and renewed hope

Disappointment – ah yes. Last week Blanks fabric called and they are scrapping the Statestamp printed panel program. I have to admit it was quite a disappointment. Why? Blanks said that the whole project of cutting and packaging was getting more involved than they wanted to get at this time. They did offer a fabric line design opportunity which I will consider. How did I react? I was gracious and I know how business is right now. This would be a new product for the industry and of course it is risky to some degree. I was sad and the old “inadequate” feelings came over me. Isn’t amazing – no matter how positive one tries to be – those nasty feelings are “ever ready” to pop up and just pile on!!! Do you know what I mean?

I went inside had a drink of water and took a nap. After I woke up I went right out to the studio and called the other two fabric companies that had interest and started the ball rolling again.  Then I sat and thought about the whole experience. Hmmm – it would have been nice – but it would have been just one small part of my line – and after all I am already printing these myself and selling them! One door shut – but I am sure others will open.  That motivated me to think long and hard about my book and my goal of being an author. So I submitted three proposals to book companies for my Where Ya Been Book and for a few other ideas. While self publishing is much more lucrative to the artist – the time and effort in getting the book published, advertized and distributed might better be left to a publishing house. I am not ruling out anything – I am just exploring all my possibilities.

So you know the old saying – when the going gets tough – the tough get going! So I designed 3 more florals and one in progress to use up some of that negative energy. When ever I get bad news I try to do something productive. When I am productive I feel much better. Hmmmm – so because I am so productive  might mean that I deal with a ton of disappointment. Yes sir – that is what it means. I like everyone experience all types of disappointment. I cheer myself up by producing! It is crazy – but it works for me!

Last week I gave a lecture in Frederick Maryland and this past weekend I was in NY doing the same. I missed the first storm of the century – but as I type it is falling again with a prediction of 10-20 more inches. School is already closed for the week!

I better get inside – American Idol starts tonight with Ellen – love her! I have pix of my3 new florals below. I am working on an Anemone tonight. I have 8 more states to go on the Where ya Been book. Tell me your thoughts. I have a Hibiscus, a Sunflower and Cyclamen.

Sunflower, Cyclamen, Hibiscus

Until next time…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane D.
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 13:47:25

    Hey Deb – you’re right, when one door closes another always opens. I’m sure that whoever ends up printing the panels will find them to be very successful. I think we got about 20″ yesterday – I’m glad you made it home in between the storms!

    Reply

  2. zebrapatterns
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 00:15:32

    Diane,

    Can you believe how much snow we have had? I heard 31″ the first round and 24 the second! We just got plowed – Friday 2-11 at 6 pm! I lived in NH for a few years and this is NH weather!

    DEb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

