Shoot for the Moon #39 – patience…

I cannot express strongly enough as a designer the value of being patient. I have been working on the California State Stamp for months. I designed it and everything converted into fabric nicely except for the type. It was very difficult to reproduce in fabric and it just did not look right. It has been sitting on my design wall for weeks on end! Today I had a fellow artist over and we worked it out. I changed the script which looked nice to block type which is doable in fabric. Cutting out the long word “California”  in all script was daunting especially as it was shadowed twice! I will make the type tomorrow and place it on the wall hanging and see if it works in fabric. I posted the old and new California below. Once I test the type I can run the pattern and put them up for sale.  More to come…

NEW California

NEW simple type

OLD CA - with complex type

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Judy Young
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 23:49:44

    I really like the block type better than the script. The script took over. Glad necessity made you change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

