Shoot for the Moon #63 – Houston Market 2010

How did it all work out at Market?

Well – it was GREAT! Mom Gabel is home and will not be needing surgery – yea! Gary flew to Houston from Florida and was able to work just about the whole market with me. I was able to find one lady to help me in the 11th hour! We signed up a ton of new customers.

The Best thing at Market

The best thing at market for me was my Schoolhouse. Schoolhouse is a 30 minute seminar that you are able to teach the potential customers about your product and how it could be used to increase their sales. My topic was “Making BOM programs Profitable”. Last year I had 13-20 people in my seminar. If you read back in my blog to Houston 2009 you will see how it was a bloody disaster – in some ways but very successful in others. Well this year – HOMERUN! I had over 120 people in my class! I had standing room only! I made a special collectible mini stamp of Houston 2010 Fall Market.  We signed a huge number of shops for Block of the Month Programs.

It was fun to catch up with old friends and spend time with new ones. Lonni Rossi stopped by my booth and we visited briefly. Lonni is an AWESOME fabric and pattern designer! Love her! She was sent to say Hi by my Obama Quilters – Michele Flamer – another talented quilt artist! I spent some time with Libby Lehman and Jinny Beyer. It is so great to get hard core advise from ladies who have “been there – done that!”.

Ideas

I always get such a creative boost after spending time at market. I have been frantically jotting down concepts and ideas. I returned home with laryngitis and spend most of yesterday in bed. I was able to design my next BOM! I have always wanted to design a BOM for my flowers. Mt flowers are a vertical format. I put the flowers in baskets and – whalla – new BOM for Spring 2011. It will be launching as a preview in January 2011 at Patches quilt shop in Mt Airy, MD and in Syracuse NY at Calico Gals. If you read this blog and want “in” you can call those shops and they will mail each month to you. Here is a sneak peek!

NEW Basket Blooms BOM

NEW Basket Blooms BOM

C&T Publishing

It was great to meet Gailen and Susanne from C&T publishing! I have worked with them for a year but we had never met face to face. These two ladies are the creative director and the procurement director respectively. My book, Blocks Across America” is just a few weeks away from public release. They were selling pre-orders at the show and at the Distributor booths. I received two mock ups for my booth and it was warmly received. It is also available on Amazon now.

Salt Lake City

Houston was so successful that we have already decided to do market in Spring in Salt Lake City! YEA! It will be nice to get new shops from the western side of the country.

Stay tuned – much more to come!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jill Dian
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 19:38:59

    I love your designs and patterns – stunning! Jill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

