Sad News – my dad passed

Last week on January 25, 2011 my dad passed suddenly in a two week bout with pneumonia. My dad was a smoker and suffered from emphysema. I went to Florida where I helped my mom with my sister and brother and stayed for almost two weeks. We all knew his emphysema was getting worse but were taken off guard at the timing. Dad had a wonderful Christmas at my home in Maryland with the whole family – all of us – which is rare! My parent continued to their Florida condo for the winter and had one relaxing week until bronchitis quickly progressed to pneumonia. My dad was 84 and has been very happily married for 63 years to my mom.
Our hearts are heavy but we are all thankful for what a kind creative gentle soul he was. He touched many with his strength and positive outlook on life. He was a great father, husband, brother, worker, role mold and friend. I will miss him very much as will all that knew him.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Millie Dawson-hardy
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 15:37:35

    My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family.
    Millie

    Reply

  2. Niecey Vachon
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 01:35:00

    Hello Debra,

    I’m sorry to hear about your dad. Your family is in my prayers.
    Niecey

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 23:59:07

    I subbed for your sister while she went to FL. She keeps me up to date on your wonderful quilts. You have a lovely website. Hope to meet you some day when you come North.
    So sorry about your Dad.

    Reply

    • zebrapatterns
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 00:58:14

      Thank you for your condolences. I appreciate your kind comments about my quilts. Do you quilt?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

