#70 Shoot for the Moon – NEW AND AMAZING!!!!!!

New Flowers

I am not sure if I mentioned this in the blog before but I have an amazing studio assistant – Patti Rusk. Patti comes by a few times a week and we do everything from picking colors for new work to stuffing patterns. Patti is an amazing person and very talented in quilting and overall in life! It is such a blessing to have Patti here with me. So, that said, Patti and I decided to get the booth out and take a look for spring market that is coming up in May. Now that I have the new Block of the month – Basket Blooms – I am not going to be displaying the 12 flowers that will be in the quilt as they will be displayed in the new quilt. So we decided to arrange the rest of the flowers to one side of the new floral quilt to show all the flowers in the line. It all worked out well but I had two open spaces for new flowers. So thins morning – Zebra has two new flowers. I decided to post them here on the blog first! Noone has seen them – not even my family as I just completed them. The flowers are Orchids and Amaryllis. Take a look and see what you think!

Amaryllis and Orchids- new for Spring 2011

I am quite please with them! I will get the patterns/instructions made this weekend.

New Book

I am pretty sure I have mentioned a while back I am writing a new book for release at the end of this year. I have 26 of 50 blocks done and the blocks are even better than Blocks Across America! I have another satellite studio assistant named Mindy Williams who is the best raw edge appliquer I have ever seen! I am lucky enough to have her working with me on the next book. Mindy rocks! and Mindy will be in Salt Lake City at Market with me. Patti would have come but her kids have big events that weekend.

New Product – This is CRAZY AMAZING!!!!! CRAZY AMAZING!!!!

I am working with Sue Mezera and her business Quilters Paradise of California. Sue has purchased 15 of my floral designs and get this…… She is die cutting all the pieces out for my flowers! She is making floral fabric kits with my flowers that she has die cut and they are already backed with fusible and they are numbered! Get out of town – right? Wait – there is more! She is also including the background, the borders and the backing!!!!!! All of this will be in the kit plus my full pattern and it will retail for between 27.95!!!! So you buy it and then you position the flower, iron it together and you place it on your top! Crazy! I have not done it yet – but I cannot imaging it would take more than 30 minutes to make one of my florals!!!! I have taken a pix of one of the kits below. If you want to call Sue/Quilters Paradise or buy from her website here is her information:

Sue Mezera of
Quilters Paradise
1451 Montiel Road, Ste 140
Escondido, CA 92026
760-738-9677
http://www.quiltersparadiseesc.com

All flower pieces cut and fused! Also included all backing, front borders and front background!


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Shiveley
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 21:31:19

    Debra,
    I took a class from you at Steve’s Sewing and Vacuum in King of Prussia a couple of years ago and have been following your blog since then. You are amazing! Your blocks are great, and your getting into the “business” is amazing, with lots of hard work, of course. The 2 new flower blocks are beautiful too.
    Susan

    Reply

  2. zebrapatterns
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 22:51:27

    Thank you Susan! The company is really taking off! It is a ton of work but filled with exciting adventures every day! I am glad you like the two new blocks. We are making samples today and tomorrow – I will post pix once I get them together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

