THE BUNION BLOG!

This is what I just posted on Facebook:

Funny Thing…. On Dec 4, 2012 I will be having bunion surgery. Bunions are bone build up on the inside of your foot below your big toe. Over time they grow and become quite painful and in my case the big toe is pushing into my second toe and causing a problem there. So the remedy is breaking the big toe and resetting it with a pin to straighten it and then shaving off excess bone build up from side of the foot. It is a big ouchy surgery- but better I get it done now before it becomes a really big problem. So it will mean 6 weeks in a boot. So what is the “funny thing”? Most of you know I am an artist. So the funny thing is that I thought that feet were shaped like that! So every time I drew anybody with feet they had bunions! LOL

Guess I will be designing a ton of new stuff and finishing lots of computer projects! I am planning to start digitizing my quilt patterns. I will have plenty of time to become an expert on the software. After the first few days I imagine I will be out in the studio – camped out for each day.

Then I had several comments to my posting….

One of the comments inspired me to comment back – I will have to start a bunion blog! I posted in jest and then realized I bet a bunch of us quilting people have this same problem. Most people settle for a wider shoe and leave it at that – not me. I try address problems head on. . . or this time I should say feet first! Apparently is is pretty uncomfortable the first few days and then you are in a boot for 6 weeks. I will have limited mobility for 6 weeks with a boot. I am planning to design, learn new software and do some hand work during that period. So heck – I might as well blog about it! Typically my blog followers are reading about “the business” of quilting. Now we will diversify and talk toes! LOL I will tell you the skinny on what this is like as it happens.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty Ogden
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 04:12:14

    I love it… I will be following your blog. lol

    Reply

  2. Susan Eddins
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 04:25:38

    Yep, I am in need of this surgery as well.

    Reply

  3. Patti Ogden
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 17:40:44

    I’m waiting to see how YOURS goes first! Lol! Just think, pretty feet again, and the ability to wear all kinds of shoes!

    Reply

    • Zebra Patterns by Debra Gabel
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 17:57:12

      I always thought my feet were pretty enough… Who knew the bump is not pretty! Most times big bps on ladies is a good thing! Never had the chest bumps or a big butt bump so I thought the foot bump was good. Lol

      Reply

Leave a Reply

