Bunion Blog #11 – Update on the hobbler

Well yesterday I went all day with no pain killers or Motrin. I do not taking those darn pain killers. I took enough of those with my cancer bought for a lifetime! I am hobbiling now pretty well. I go up and down stairs a few times a day. It is not pretty – but it works! My foot is for sure – still sore but tolerable without pain killers. Saturday I took my first shower! Washing with washcloths in a sink on one leg is not fun! So I bagged my foot in a 2 gallon ziplock bag, then a small towel secured with duct tape, then a kitchen bag with duct tape, then another towel with duct tape and finally a lawn bag with duct tape! It was an interesting site! I thought about taking a picture – but realized my phone was back at my bedside. Then I go to step into the shower – and oops – still have underwear on. Needless to say I did not unwrap the super water proof leg wrap and I was very close to a pair of scissors! So I am one less pair of underwear! I showered – felt great to get clean – and then it took me 10 minutes to get out of the contraption I created on my leg! The leg was dry! Then I dried my hair and went to bed for 3 hours! Isn’t funny how tired we can get by doing almost nothing?

So I am almost to the mindset that I am over this foot thing – lets get on with life! I will just be hobbling through for 5 more weeks. Later at 6 pm I will be sponsoring another Blog Hop Give away! Check Back then, leave a comment and you could win a Zebra single pattern of your choice!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane. brown
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 16:24:02

    Whenever I had my foot taped up for plantar fasciitis my hubby would use those bags the newspaper comes in. Of course you have to blow them up first to check if they leak. He’d use adhesive to tape the bags at the top onto my leg. Worked like a charm. In a pinch he’d use the two gallon sized zip loc bags. Glad you are off the meds I think they do more harm than good.

    Reply

  2. Love2kwilt
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 00:05:16

    They sell cast covers for showering at drug stores. I got one at Walgreens for about $15 – totally worth it! I showered postop day #1 and it fits over the Aircast boot. It is snug on the leg, but waterproof. I am postop day #3 today. Finding your blog made me think of keeping better documentation of my experience, especially since my right foot needs to be done next year.

    I’m inspired now to go grab that quilt I set aside for my recovery time and get that binding sewn on!

    Happy healing!
    Kristine
    San Diego, CA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

