Bunion Wrap up

Well it has been 7 weeks. I got rid of the boot last week. I am back into hard soled shoes. Yea! My foot is still quite stiff but I am walking around boot-free. I go to PT twice a week and stretch it. I have been told it will take the better part of a year to go back to normal. So looking back would I have done it again? Yep! It is terribly inconvenient – especially if it is your right foot for driving, however it is better to have gotten it done and not have my toes continue to disfigure. The good news it is a surgery you can plan ahead. You really have to block out a solid 3-4 weeks of being on crutches and limping – probably not returning to a job where you have to be on location. The first two weeks you have to be home and foot elevated with ice. Week three you get around with crutches but elevate as much as possible. Week four you can move around much better – but your foot gets sore pretty quickly. It is not until weeks 5-6 can you function pretty well again. So if you need a bunionectomy – go for it! Just pick a 6 week period where you will be laying very low. If it is your right foot you will need a driver to get a round for awhile. On a scale of 1-10 how painful was the most painful part? I would say a 4-5. That was only a few days. Not bad at all! After that if you ice and elevate you are fine. This ends the bunion blog! Yours truly – Happy Feet! LOL

7 Weeks

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane. brown
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 15:59:27

    Looking good. Thanks for the update and blog about what to expect.

    Reply

  2. Ellen Frketic
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 21:44:37

    Glad it went so well. Can you wear heels yet or do you have to wait a while for that?

    Reply

    • Debra Gabel
      Jan 31, 2013 @ 23:22:40

      I guess I could wear heels… But it would be painful to keep my foot arched like that for an extended period. I have worn uggs and flat thick soled shoes successfully.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

