Bobbin Pattern is ready to Order!

Bobbin the Robin Pincushion/Selfie Plush Pattern

Bobbin the Robin Pincushion/Selfie Plush Pattern

The Bobbin the Robin Pattern is all ready to be ordered!

http://www.zebrapatterns.com/bobbintherobin.html

This was the first time I ever created a 3-D pincushion pattern! Here is the story behind it. Bobbin has appeared in all of our printed fabric for the Row by Row Experience™. I was thinking about the silly online selfies that are taken with Flat Stanley or the Gnome. I got an inspirational thought that told me to create a 3d pincushion for all of the quilting world to take selfies with! So how did I go about it? Quilters are traveling all over the place during the summer. Why not take a pix with Bobbin when you are Row by Rowing!

It is not like you can go out and purchase a Bird Form in your local sewing center, so I created my own. I bought some children’s air dry clay. I sculpted a bird and let it dry. Then I made a muslin sample. (Thank you Project Runway for showing how designers pin clothes to the mannequins) Then I made 2-3 prototypes with minke, cottons and Batiks. My first prototypes needed to go on a diet! I altered the pattern 4-5 times and finally got a shape I liked. I found it was important to really follow curved seams lines accurately and smoothly to avoid a misshaped bird.

You can get the silly 18″ doll shoes and accessories in toys stores, stores like Walmart and Target or craft stores. It is so fun and so so so easy!

Clay Model Bobbin

Clay Model Bobbin

First Bobbin prototype

First Bobbin muslin prototype

First Bobbin muslin prototype

First Bobbin prototype

First Bobbin prototype

Once I got the pattern done I painted the wooden BBQ skewers white with black stripes. I dipped them in fabric glue and stuck them in the body in the under belly. The glue sealed the hole edges. Then I put air dry kid’s clay into 18″ doll shoes. It was so much fun that I ended up doing a second Bobbin – with cowboy boots and hat. I named him Bubba Bobbin. Then I loved the glittery red shoes so I made a Prima Bobbin! So much fun!

Bobbin and Friends

Bobbin and Friends

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Whiskers
    Oct 29, 2014 @ 14:45:03

    I think there is a “Robin” on my to-do list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

