New project and 2 New Flowers!

Something new! I have been working hard this year on learning how to digitize my patterns. It is a bit scary learning a new skill. Learning to digitize is not for sissies! By digitizing I mean computer generating stitching that sews down appliqué edges with a computerized sewing/embroidery machine. I had been looking for several years for the right way to get digital appliqué in my line of Zebra Patterns. I came to the conclusion that when you want something done you just need to do it yourself! The hard part about digitizing is that I find the digital programs to be clumsy. I am use to Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop which can do basically anything intuitively. Digitizing software make some simple tasks in the programs I am used to, very complex or impossible. I have set aside 2016 to learn to digitize my appliqués as professional products for the quilt market. One of the other problems I have encountered it that there is not a course where one can just start learning from square one and progress through mastery. There are tons of little nuggets here and there on the internet and on you tube. The classes are geared to particular software. What works in one program may not work in another. Although they are similar – they are still quite different. So my plan is as follows: I am tackling my simple animals for my Animal Appliqué books. I am working with Brad Martin from Sew Vac Ellicott City with Designers Gallery Creator 3. I have digitized 3 animals and have yet to sew them out! I will keep you up to date on how this project goes! It is fun to be learning something new – but I do feel the pressure of getting good at it so I can make products for the market! I am 54 years old and starting something brand new – to me. It is going to be a challenge – but I am ready!

So last night I needed a break! I designed 2 new Tropical flowers. Let me know what you think. One is a Passion Flower and the other is a Bougainvillea or Paper Flower. I will work on patterning and making samples this spring!

Passion Flower and Bougainvillea

New Passion Flower and Bougainvillea by Debra Gabel of Zebra Patterns

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JRHerold
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 22:29:55

    You are in the prime of your life and starting something new is an adventure you’re more than up to! Have you considered digitizing for the long arm market as well? There is standardized software that many long armers use, Art and Stitch comes to mind. Sounds like you might be designing for one particular brand of machine, though and that’s probably a great way to start. I like the new flowers!

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 23:54:58

    Love the flowers!

    Reply

  3. corkscot
    Feb 27, 2016 @ 00:43:43

    IMPRESSIVE!

    Reply

  4. Carol Sanborn
    Feb 27, 2016 @ 04:11:18

    What a great adventure learning something so different. I like the new flowers, especially the bougainvillea. We have several growing in our yard and you hit this one.

    Reply

  5. Francine Meyer-Drasutis
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 16:02:02

    I am so excited to follow your digitizing. I am also new at it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

